

# Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Athy Municipal District held at 10.00 am on Monday, 17 July 2023 in the Athy Municipal Building

Members Present: Councillor B Dooley (Cathaoirleach), Councillors V Behan, A

Breslin, B Dooley, I Keatley, M Leigh

Officials Present: Ms A Aspell (District Manager) Ms C O'Grady(Senior Executive

Officer) Mr B McGrath (Meetings Administrator), Ms A Noone

(Meetings Secretary) and other officials.

#### AY01/0723

## **Election of Cathaoirleach**

Councillor Dooley (Cathaoirleach) welcomed the members to the annual meeting of Athy Municipal District.

Councillor Dooley thanked numerous people including the the officials for all their help over the past year. He also thanked his fellow members for all their support and guidance. He thanked the members services team. He also thanked his family for their support. He thanked members of An Garda Siochana, residents associations, members of the community and the media. He noted all the great events throughout the year. He said it was an exciting time for Athy Municipal District with many projects coming up or nearing completion. He thanked Councillor Behan for her work as Leas Chathaoirleach during the year.

The members each thanked Councillor Dooley for all his hard work throughout the year.

They noted it had been a very productive year and said he was a positive leader who worked well with the members as a team.



# **Kildare County Council**

Ms A Aspell thanked Councillor Dooley for his support throughout the year especially mentioning his professionalism in getting the LPT and budget over the line and wished him all the best for the future.

Councillor Dooley invited nomination for the position of Cathaoirleach of Athy Municipal District.

Councillor Dooley proposed Councillor Behan and was seconded by Councillor Leigh. As there were no further nominations Councillor Behan was deemed elected Cathaoirleach of Athy Municipal District.

**Resolved** in accordance with Section 37 (a) and (b) of the Local Government Act 2021 as amended that on the proposal of Councillor Dooley, seconded by Councillor Leigh and agreed by all members that that Councillor Behan be deemed elected as Cathaoirleach of Athy Municipal District.

Councillor Behan took the chair. She stated that she was honoured to have been chosen as Cathaoirleach. She thanked the members, District Manager, officials and looked forward to working together for the next year. She thanked her family for their support. There were exciting times ahead with progress in various projects in the Municipal District and wants to continue to build on the progress made. She noted that Culture and Heritage were integral parts of the Municipal District. She thanked Ms Aspell, and the members services team for all their support.

### AY02/0723

#### **Election of Leaschathaoirleach**

Councillor Behan invited nominations for the position of Leas Chathaoirleach.

Councillor Dooley proposed Councillor Leigh and was seconded by Councillor Breslin. As there were no further nominations Councillor Leigh was deemed elected Leaschathaoirleach of Athy Municipal District.

The members thanked Councillor Dooley for his hard work and dedication and for being a good leader over the past year. They congratulated Councillors Behan and Leigh and stated



# **Kildare County Council**

they would have the full support of the members. They looked forward to working together in the year ahead.

Ms A Aspell congratulated Councillors Behan and Leigh and gave her best wishes for the year ahead and said she was there to give support where needed.

**Resolved** on the proposal of Councillor Dooley, seconded by Councillor Breslin and agreed by all members that Councillor Leigh be deemed elected as Leas Chathaoirleach of Athy Municipal District.

The meeting concluded.